Friday, February 21, 2014

Flowered Sunset - Skagit, Washington, USA.

Flowered Sunset - Skagit, Washington, USA.

Skagit County is a county in the State of Washington. As of the 2010 census, the population was 116,901. The county seat and largest city is Mount Vernon. The county was formed in 1883 from Whatcom County and is named for the Skagit Indian tribe that has lived in the area since long before European-American settlement.
Skagit County comprises the Mount Vernon-Anacortes, Washington, Metropolitan Statistical Area, and is included in the Seattle-Tacoma-Olympia, WA Combined Statistical Area.
According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,920 square miles (5,000 km2), of which 1,731 square miles (4,480 km2) is land and 189 square miles (490 km2) (9.8%) is water. It is noted for its broad, fertile valley of the Skagit River, a center for cultivation of tulips and strawberries.



Post a Comment

Back to top!