Sunday, February 16, 2014

Jerez de la Frontera, Andalucia, Spain.

Jerez de la Frontera, Andalucia, Spain.

Jerez de la Frontera is a municipality in the province of Cádiz in the autonomous community of Andalusia, in southwestern Spain, situated midway between the sea and the mountains. As of 2013, the city, the largest in the province, had 215,180 inhabitants; it is the fifth largest in Andalusia. It has become the transportation and communications hub of the province, surpassing even Cádiz, the provincial capital, in economic activity. Jerez de la Frontera is also, in terms of land area, the largest municipality in the province, and its sprawling outlying areas are a fertile zone for agriculture. There are also many cattle ranches and horse-breeding operations, as well as a world-renowned wine industry.
The city of Jerez is governed by the ayuntamiento (municipality) of Jerez, whose representatives, as in other towns in Spain, are elected every four years by universal suffrage for all citizens older than 18 years of age. The body is chaired by the mayor of Jerez.
Jerez de la Frontera and the rest of the Cádiz metropolitan area has a Subtropical–Mediterranean climate with oceanic influences, characterized by very mild and wet winters and long warm to hot and dry summers. The average annual temperature is 24 °C (75 °F) during the day and 12 °C (54 °F) at night. The average annual precipitation is 598 mm (23.5 in) per year, concentrated in the months of October through April. December is the wettest month with 109 mm (4.3 in). There are 54 rainy days per year, 137 clear days and 2,966 hours of sunshine a year.



Post a Comment

Back to top!