Saturday, July 26, 2014

Kerkyra, Ionian Islands, Greece.

Kerkyra, Ionian Islands, Greece.

The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. "the Seven Islands" but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones.
The Ionian Islands official region, excluding Cythera, in 2011 was 207,855, decreased by 1,50% compared to the population in 2001. Nevertheless, the region remains the third by population density with 90.1/km² nation-wide, well above the national of 81.96/km². The most populous of the major islands is Corfu with a population of 104,371, followed by Zante , Cephalonia , Leucas and Ithaca.The foreign-born population was in 2001 19,360 or 9.3%, the majority of which was concentrated in Corfu and Zante. Most of them originate from Albania.The fertility rate for 2011 according to Eurostat was 1.35 live births per woman.The regional Gross Domestic Product for 2010 was 4,029 millions euros. The GDP per capita for the same year was 18,440 euros per capita which was lower than the national median of 20,481. However, the GDP per capita of Cephalonia and Zante, 23,275 and 24,616 respectively, was much higher than the national figure. Additionally, unemployment for 2012 was 14.7, the lowest among all Greek regions, and much lower compared to the national unemployment of 24.2.



Post a Comment

Back to top!